Home > Book Review, Expression, Fiction > Deathly Hallows

Deathly Hallows

Reading has been pretty slow on my side with master’s thesis hovering like a devil above my head, visible only to me with closed or open eyes. I decided to get back to reading habit before I lose it. So, anything better than a fast paced unread Potter novel ? I am sure there are.

Following the last book “Half-blood Prince”, Rowling goes on to end the Potter series with the “Deathly Hallows”. While what are they is a mystery and a nice one, the fate of the characters is not. While you can keep guessing who dies, who doesn’t, you can very well tell what is in store for Ron, Hermione, Voldemort, Harry, Ginny….

The story gets darker (more dark stuff, and no more he is young thing), and everything is a revealed with aura of mystery around it. Hallows and Horcruxes are nicely blended and you will be hooked up till the last page. However, as an adult, if you keep on reading you will be disappointed, you would want something more unguessable, and you will find it ends rather much too dramatically.

One of the (any) writer’s quality I appreciate is ending the story with things left to reader’s imagination. The book ends perfectly, I mean just too perfectly.

I would have loved if the protagonist had more firmer ending with no scope of eighth installment.

For kids, it is a moralistic ending. And we all want our kids to know that.

Assuming that lot are lazy like me and that this entry will still be alive for the next generation to search (and many generations after that), I spare you of surprises and not so surprises of the book.

  1. August 14, 2008 at 5:05 am

    “I decided to get back to reading habit before I lose it. So, anything better than a fast paced unread Potter novel ? I am sure there are”…it first reminds me of Maugham’s fascinating observations:~

    “I would sooner read a time-table or a catalogue than nothing at all…They are much more entertaining than half the novels that are written..”

    And, the series is good one to opt for even when it may not offer as much surprises as adults are accustomed to experience in real life. What is fascinating in Rowling ( not my opinion, but a feeling ) is how she choses words to suit the sequence and I observed that each of those sparkle on the eyes of innocent kids while reading over…
    Yes, we get more surprised to find that we remain somewhere alone and deeper within a child forever and that’s the finest of all blessings of the almighty…(perhaps!)
    Best wishes,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

