Home > Canada, Hamilton > A Trivial Update

A Trivial Update

 

So, I owe this place some update. I wonder how many people bothered to visit this blog in my absence, well relax, I am not going to punish those who did not. But, yes, I will be more frequent here now that I have Inspiron with me. Inspiron? My Silver Coloured new boyfriend – Dell Laptop – and he is fast with lots of space ;) No surprises! I have been in Hamilton since 28th of August and it already seems ages. I will graduate, if all goes well, in 2009. (Gosh, I have lost touch with writing, I am simply drumming my fingers on my keyboard…) In the meantime, there is lot to do and little has been done. Somethings have changed for good, somethings are new , somethings are the same and that includes me inside.

My dwelling is a compact house with a top floor and a basement, I live somewhere in the middle. We are 3 girls – me, Leslie and Larisa. Not surprisingly, we hardly see each other in a day since all share a time crunched schedule. My day begins whenever I want it to begin and ends at my convinience. It means I have a luxury of acting lazy and and the compulsion of attending the 8.30 classes as well. I walk, walk and walk. Wherever I go I use my two legs instead of two wheels I had in India. I walk to office, 5 minutes, 3 pedestrian crossings; I walk to CIBC, my bank, 4 Kms; Fortinoes, my shopping mall that fills up my kitchen, 15 minutes, along the abandoned rail track. I take the Hamilton Street Railway, HSR, public bus service to the downtown and the rides are free to McStudents anywhere in Hamilton.

Neighbourhood is,well.., good. We have a convinience store, printing shop, Williams coffee pub, Gino’s Pizza, a Funeral House, Subway, Irish Pub…. I love Gino’s Vegeterian Pizza. Mcmaster is just couple of blocks away from home. There is a street called Broad Avenue and Ward Avenue and my house is at the corner of their intersection. It’s called, the 32 Ward. I take the Broadway Avenue, walk couple of blocks, pass 3 pedestrian crossings, and reach my office that needs a key (and sometimes a swipe card) to open every time I leave.

I return home to my room, that has a bed on wheels, a desk fized up by me, clothes lying everywhere, a table that has some trivial things and now my Inspiron, let me call it Inspi. I try to cook but I like the ready made soups that need no efforts, or the pasta, or the noodles, or pizza and sometimes Indian food. I will soon put up some pictures in my room and make it a better place to live.

My office…heaven. I have never known that office can be fun. Being a student and having a office? That’s the charm, and the offices are not those small cubicles in your professional companies but a big desk with loads of shelves to arrange your things or to keep them just like that if you prefer mess. I have a huge shelf for books, another for files, another for food, another for my computer, another for papers…And then there is a lot of space beneath to spread my legs. I have very good office neighbours. Just as India is neighboured by China and have 2 Chinese, Jing and Xiao on my left and right. Behind me is girl from Iran, Bahareh. And at the cross a Ukranian, Oleysia. So hardly any Indians? You are mistaken. Though my department has no Indians (proud to be the only one!) I have managed to meet some Indians, my projectmate being one of those.

The weather here is…

I can’t believe, there is so much to talk and write and share..Let’s take it slow. I want to write my Swiss Air experience – Travelling from Mumbai to Zurich and then 6 hours at the Zurich International Airport. Untill next time )

Categories: Canada, Hamilton
  1. Raju
    October 12, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Lucid as usual.. Nice to know you have settled.. Look forward to more..

  2. Saibal Barman
    October 12, 2007 at 11:51 am

    A walk that I wished not to end has indeed ended!
    Just visited my blog and it’s nice to see your cursor blinking again. It was a long absence, meaningful though.
    Let words flow.
    Take care,

  3. Anil
    October 14, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Great, you are finally back to writing. keep writing.

  4. October 15, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    If you are thinking of punishing people who did not visit this space – I think you would do well to start with yourself 🙂 With so much to say hope you will be a more regular visitor.

  5. October 15, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    You caught the right string, Madhuri! 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

