Home > Expression > Hatred and Indifference

Hatred and Indifference

I’ve been often been criticized as a person with less EQ, yeah, whatever that means. They say I’m inexpressive, I reply I’m indifferent – often a white lie. A very close friend of mine sarcastically reminds me “Yeah, yeah, you are indifferent”. I tell him indifference helps sometimes. Whatever.

I have had experiences with hatred and will tell about couple of extreme experiences. I’ve hated people for their vile remarks towards me, on face and at my back, their stupiduty, whimsical nature.

It as in my 7th grade and we had a new girl – tall and well-built, the bullying ones type – in our class. She had a habit of ‘bitching’ people. She did a lot to me. I could never  find words to hit her back and would leave for home sometimes crying, mouthing her curses. I continued hating her and started ignoring. But 10 years later I met her on street and I was trying to ignore her but she came to me, smiled, we talked and she wished me luck. Surprised!

Thus happened in college too. A girl called ‘Swati’ (yeah, I’m not scared to say that!) got pissed on me for some reason I’m yet to discover. I learnt she passed a lot of vile remarks behind my back, proclaming me to be her biggest enemy. She successfully turned entire class against me(us). Few months down the line, I saw her copying notes from my file – hiding it from me while entire class soon learned to smile at me. I never bothered to know what went wrong or what she viled. But lessons were learnt.

Instead of treating people you don’t like with hatred and ugly remarks it is much wiser to treat them with indifference – they too will learn to smile. Sometimes it is fun to listen to people with whimsical nature about their stupidity – no matter how much you feel like banging your head, they entertain you, and you learn tolerance. Thinking about these incidences some years later makes you laugh.

The fear is indifference is a very convenient way of tacking emotions and can become a habit, a nature, a characteristic. Even today I hate some people, but now I know the trick.

To forgive is divine but to forget unwise.(someone said that). Tackle hate with indifference and see the difference 😉

Categories: Expression
  1. June 12, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Indifference == Safe Escape + Negligence

  2. June 12, 2007 at 10:22 am

    True, won’t disagree. While sometimes apathy is good, it should not be a general trait.

  3. Girish
    June 14, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    You used your favourite word again. That too with special attention. So your wont gets satisfied this time as well. I read upto that (‘—‘) and stopped, stopped till you find a suitable substitute as promised (?) before.

  4. June 15, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Why think of them when there is so much to do?

  5. June 15, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    Girish,

    I think the word suits here especially for the girl.

    Abhilash,

    Precisely 🙂

  6. Girish
    June 16, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    No. you could have used ‘backbiting’. Anyway its your choice and your voice.

  7. santasa
    June 21, 2007 at 10:40 am

    Being indifferent to others comments/backbiting is the harshest reaction. You are simply denying their existence.

    Most of these — people are dying for attention. They are out to show how great they are by belittle-ing others. if you are indifferent to them and their activities, you are the most cruel person on the earth!

    But it is not possible for everyone to be indifferent.

  1. June 22, 2007 at 11:46 am

Leave a Reply

