Home > Movie review > Water

Water

A friend of mine hates ‘art’ movies and he never finds Deepa Mehta entertaining; he calls her a successful disappoint. Maybe, because she digs for socially ostracized issues. He told me he is not going to ask me how the movie was and I was quick to answer that I will not tell even if he begs to be told unless he cares to read this post, which he will sucessfuly skip after reading the blog-title.

Water my first Deepa Mehta film and I will say it is an heart-rendering unforgattable movie. By the time I write this post every reader will have seen it. I will say why I find it unforgettable and heart-rendering. It talks about the issue that present generation has got nothing to do with, its an old dead issue but it is worth knowing because we should know how far we have reached.

It’s the innocence of 7-year-old girl Chuhiya that gave me goosebumps and wet eyes. Long hair, ripped to tonsure for she is a widow. Chuhiya doesn’t know what it means to marry, or to become a widow. All she waits for is her ‘Amma’ to take her back home. She is tricked into lewdness in the pretext of play. It’s the innocence of her age when she asks “How long will I be a widow?” or “Where is men widow-house?”, when she is booed for asking a profane question.

There is Kalyani. A beautiful widow, with her hair uncut, widowed at nine without seeing her husband. She wants to break the rules and marry a handsome man, Narayan, from lower class, who is a Gandhi follower. Only she realises that she is a desire of night of Narayan’s father. Didi, played by Seema Biswas, is the literate one. She frees Kalyani so that she can marry Narayan, and she rescues Chuhiya. She wants to know the truth – the vedas, the laws. She is the one who questions but doesn’t want to leave her fate of being a widow; maybe she does but she is scared about its profanity.

Every women in living in the widow house is waiting to be loved by someone, waiting to love someone. Madhumati, a big fat mean woman, owns a parrot whom she gives her love and cries with hiccups when it dies. Bua remembers nothing but her hay days – gulab jamuns, gold, ladus etc. She sees nothing but ladoos everywhere and she dies only after Chuhiya grants her wish.

Oh! there are shots that make you feel so bad…

I will not say it is a movie that will change you but it is beautiful, heart-rendering, innocent, unforgettable; a movie that makes you think and thank the efforts of people who fought for a brighter future back then.. Hats off to Deepa Mehta for the wonderful movie.

Categories: Movie review
  1. NT
    April 8, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    I hope you really like the movie for its worth and not for someone else picking apart it. As a matter of fact your friend seems to be ignorant idiot of such wonderfully useful art of making beautiful, heart-rendering, innocent, unforgettable, blah, foreach(ripe-word in oxford-dictionary)echo $1.”,”; etc..

    Perhaps, he/she doesn’t understand that every movie is worth watching, it may or may not relate to you or anyone else, nevertheless, but it shows how far we have reached in making films. Perhaps, he/she doesn’t even know that social scratch studies are so utilitarian and thought sharpening.

  2. April 8, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Well, you did not skip the post as I had thought and thanks for the nerdy comment. Besides there is no confussion as to whether it is he or she as my post suggests it is he.

    It’s ok not to like the movie but some movies are worth watching before forming an opinion. I can pretty much decide on not watching “50 first dates” and even then dislike it. But some movies should be watched before being criticized.

  3. April 8, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    oh, yes I liked the movie for its worth and not for someone picking it apart.

  4. NT
    April 8, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    I skipped the movie part to your supposals.

    Please follow what you preach: “some movies are worth watching before forming an opinion”, how contradicting in your own words. you seem to be confused, relax! “50 First Dates” isn’t that bad and, “please please” don’t form opinion , out of dreaded assumptions, without watching and just because the name is bit non-conservative.

    Heh.. the opinions about “Water” aren’t from air, it was based on plot spoilers and bit of review that I did on the web, and it simply didn’t suit my movie preference. IN YOUR HUMBLE OPINION, it may be inferior but I like what I prefer and I am not crosslegged myself about my likings and I can’t be.

  5. April 8, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    I am not saying that watching “50 First Dates” is inferior, I for one liked watching “Tremors”, nor do I think that watching “Water” is an exalted choice.

    Please follow what you preach: “some movies are worth watching before forming an opinion”, how contradicting in your own words. you seem to be confused, relax! Let us not forget the some part.

    It is just that Water is a different kind of movie that cannot be compared with the likes of “50 first dates” that has nothing for the critics. It digs on a social issue, is realistic and needs special consideration. Some movies are mere entertainers, some are eye-openers, some heart-rendering, while others might change your view. Lets not forget that movies are also a form of art, like paintings, literature, music, and it has lot to tell.

    I was not expecting you to read the post, forget commenting.
    Unfortunately, it all digs down to “Man! it’s all relative.”

  6. NT
    April 9, 2007 at 1:48 am

    “Man! it’s all relative.”

    You started generalising your preference in the first place

    .

  7. April 9, 2007 at 11:02 am

    I have not generalized my preferences anywhere in the post. I just said that a friend of mine doesn’t watch ‘art’ movies while I do. The only part I complain is that your unacceptance that Water is a good movie, worth watching before saying it was a disappoint.

  8. Hina
    April 11, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    WEll, I saw the movie only out of curiosity. But it was of its kind.. A touching story really. But I wonder how much truth lies behind these things. Thats what am asking people for. Lets see the response! Anyways, widows today too are a but secluded, though we do not face the child marriages nowadays. But its all an urban scenario. YOu never know what happens at the rural level! Anyways, food for thought!!!

  9. April 11, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    It is very true. People, 3 generations older than us, can conform it.

    You are right about the differences in urban and rural scenario.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

