Home > Expression > Choice: Is it an illusion?

Choice: Is it an illusion?

I have long been thinking: what is choice? No answer ever satisfies me because even it has two sides, like every coin. I can write here that choice is just unreal and also write that your life is what you choose it to be. Though a strong proponent of later, I have seen examples of the former and it always makes me reconsider my point of view.If I recollect, keeping my hand on chin and using the forefinger to scratch it, I will say I have always done what I wanted to do, what I choose to do. There are certain decisions guided more by need but it can’t happen to you unless you choose to make a decision, choose to go by need. If you risk messing your career, want to live your dream, resign from the job, take up book to read, wake up late hours and miss the beautiful sunrise, neglect the opportunity to go on a long cruise – it is all in your hands. Circumstances might not favor you, but you got a make a decision. You got to make a choice: do it or loose it.

On the other hand certain things might just happen: Can you choose to fall in love? I think yes, I also think no. O’ boy, confused, am I?

Certain people might claim that our society takes a major part in decisions we take. This is very true, you always make decision with society in the back of your mind; you don’t want to be ostracized afterall. However when society forces you to give up because it does not conform to the rules it has defined, choice becomes an illusion, force a reality. Does every person have the luxury of choice? Yes, giving up to force is also a choice. Acceptance to servitude is also a choice.

I think, choice is reality. We are really what we choose to be. That’s what my life has been.

Categories: Expression
  1. runawaysun
    March 17, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Choice (my definition) – an open mind; an adventure; not having to settle with what I’ve already got; more than zero.

  2. n30
    March 18, 2007 at 8:45 am

    some of the dialogues from the matrix trilogy… which i think is quite true…and that is my personal opinion….and my own choice… 8)

    are as follows….

    Morpheus: Everything begins with choice,.
    Merovingian: No. Wrong. Choice is an illusion, created between those with power, and those without.

    ================

    Neo: Then why can’t I see what happens to her?
    The Oracle: We can never see past the choices we don’t understand.
    Neo: Are you saying I have to choose whether Trinity lives or dies?
    The Oracle: No. You’ve already made the choice, now you have to
    understand
    it.

    ====================

    The Oracle: Well, come on. I ain’t gonna bite ya. Come around here, and
    let
    me have a look at ya. My goodness, look at you! You turned out all
    right,
    didn’t you? How do you feel?
    Neo: I, uh…
    The Oracle: I know you’re not sleeping. We’ll get to that. Why don’t
    you
    come and have a sit this time?
    Neo: Maybe I’ll stand.
    The Oracle: Well, suit yourself.
    Neo: I felt like sitting.
    The Oracle: I know. So. Let’s get the obvious stuff out of the way.
    Neo: You’re not human, are you?
    The Oracle: Well it’s tough to get any more obvious than that.
    Neo: If I had to guess, I’d say you’re a program from the machine
    world. So
    is he.
    The Oracle: So far, so good.
    Neo: But if that’s true, that can mean you are a part of this system,
    another kind of control.
    The Oracle: Keep going.
    Neo: I suppose the most obvious question is, how can I trust you?
    The Oracle: Bingo! It is a pickle, no doubt about it. The bad news is
    there’s no way if you can really know whether I’m here to help you or
    not.
    So it’s really up to you. You just have to make up your own damn mind
    to
    either accept what I’m going to tell you, or reject it. Candy?
    Neo: D’you already know if I’m going to take it?
    The Oracle: Wouldn’t be much of an Oracle if I didn’t.
    Neo: But if you already know, how can I make a choice?
    The Oracle: Because you didn’t come here to make the choice, you’ve
    already
    made it. You’re here to try to understand why you made it. I thought
    you’d
    have figured that out by now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

