Home > Poetry > The Unsatiated Soul

The Unsatiated Soul

It is true for everyone of us – when we are kids we want to be a grown up so that we can do all that they do. When we are in college, we want to earn so that we can enjoy. When we finally start earning we want the irresponsible chilhood back. We are never satisfied with what we have.

“Don’t cross the street”, they said,
“You are still young for that”.
I wish I were you,
To conquer my world then.

“Don’t spend what you can’t earn”, they said,
but I wanted to touch the sky.
I wish I had earned,
To conquer my world then.

I cross the streets
I spend what I can earn
But stop me from what I do
’cause I want the harum-scarum back.

It’s the insatiable human soul.

–Shefali, wrote on 24th Jan 27

Categories: Poetry
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

